About Us


The League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), founded in 1929, is the oldest Latinx civil rights organization in the United States. LULAC was created at a time in our country’s history when Latinx folks were denied basic civil and human rights, despite contributions to American society. The founders of LULAC created an organization that empowers its members to create and develop opportunities where they are needed most. Members form local councils that help address community issues. These local councils report to their area districts. These area districts report to state officers. State officers report to a national board. For more information, please visit www.lulac.org.

Rainbow Revolution

LULAC Lambda Logo
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and more (LGBTQ+) Latinx community has always been a part of LULAC, both as members and leaders, throughout its many decades. On June 12, 2016, the very first LGBTQ+ LULAC Council -- created specifically for and by LGBTQ+ members -- was launched in Dallas, Texas. It was named The Dallas Rainbow Council, LULAC Council 4871. LGBTQ+ councils were later established in San Antonio, Washington D.C., Corpus Christi, the Rio Grande Valley, Northern Virginia and San Juan. In 2014, one of the co-founders of the Dallas council helped launch LULAC Lambda in the District of Columbia.

LULAC Lambda

LULAC Lambda
On Oct. 27, 2014, the community came together to launch LULAC Lambda, Council 11125. Our mission is to mobilize and strengthen the LGBTQ+ and Latinx communities of the D.C. through community and civic engagement. 

Past Presidents include Victor Martinez (2014-2015), Alberto Flores (2015-2016), Jesse Garcia (2016-2020) and Erik Rodriquez (2020-2022).

Our 2022 Leadership


Javier Aquino

Javier is an experienced director and manager for the American Psychological Association working in legal and regulatory affairs related to advocacy for rural mental health, state and local mental health providers, and government relations. As a longstanding member of DC's drag community, he has advocated for and built local spaces for queer joy and expression.

Gabriel Hernandez
Vice President

Gabriel Hernández

Gabriel Hernández is a Special Assistant at the U.S. Department of Energy in the Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management. He previously worked for the Administrative Office of the United States Courts and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. He is originally from Pharr, Texas in the Rio Grande Valley and is a proud member of the LGBTQ+ community. He earned a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Master of Public Administration from St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas.


Rogelio Cerezo

Rogelio Cerezo is an international education practitioner, who currently leads a team of project management professionals in support of the U.S. Department of State’s International Visitor Leadership Program (IVLP) at the Institute of International Education (IIE). Rogelio has an M.A. in International Affairs from The George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs, and a B.A. in Political Science and a double minor in Economics and Security Studies from Dickinson College.

Erik Rodriquez

Erik Rodriquez

Erik is an epidemiologist by training and works as a scientist studying the health of Latinx individuals. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Davis; M.P.H. from Loma Linda University; and B.S. from California State University, Fresno.


Zoey McShane

Zoey McShane is in Wesley Theological Seminary’s master’s program. Working at the Human Rights Campaign and as a Sexual Education Teacher for a local church, Zoey hopes to become a tool for change as a Theologian and Minister.

Jesse Garcia
Chair of Communications

Jesse Garcia

Jesse is a communications professional who has worked in public affairs for the federal government for 26 years. He attended schools in San Antonio, Texas, earning a B.A. from Our Lady of the Lake University and a M.A. from St. Mary’s University.

Chair of Scholarship

Michael Ramirez

Retired, Michael’s career in Human Resources spanned 30 years in federal and state government and private industry. He was actively involved in and managed several political campaigns at the local, state and federal levels. A former Peace Corps Volunteer, Michael has a Bachelor’s degree in Social Work from the University of Texas at Austin, and a Master’s degree in Social Work and Public Administration from the Lyndon Baines Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas.

Annual Awards


  • Board Member of the Year: David Jaramillo
  • New Member of the Year: Michael Ramirez
  • Member of the Year: Javier Aquino
  • Ally of the Year: Latin American Youth Center


  • Member of the Year: Daniel Muñoz
  • Board Member of the Year: Bri Perez-Brennan
  • Ally of the Year: BHT Foundation


  • Member of the Year: Alexa Rodriguez
  • Board Member of the Year: Julio Acevedo
  • Ally of the Year: Empoderate


  • Member of the Year: Jimmy Chavez
  • Board Member of the Year: Erik Rodriquez
  • Ally of the Year: Human Rights Campaign


  • Member of the Year: Mario Reynoso
  • Board Member of the Year: Patricio Provitina
  • Ally of the Year: Latinx History Project


  • Member of the Year: Luis Torres
  • Board Member of the Year: Dion Barela
  • Ally of the Year: LULAC Office